Success is a Team Effort

The University of Delaware ice hockey team had another successful season during the 1983-84 campaign, compiling a 22-8-1 record en-route to the Mid Atlantic Collegiate Hockey Conference Finals. The year had many highlights, including a regular season conference log of 8-0, making the Hens the only team ever to go undefeated in league history.

The University of Pennsylvania Class of ’23 Invitational Tournament lured such prestigious teams as M.I.T., whom the Hens handled easily in the opening round by a score of 12-1. In the semi-finals, no less than twelve separate skaters scored goals in a lop-sided 17-2 win over Drexel. Delaware defeated host Penn in the finals to capture the first place trophy. Senior forward Fil Sherry was named tournament M.V.P. for his eight goal, nine assist performance.

At another tournament in Pittsburgh, Pa., Delaware again rallied over its opponents Duquesne (9-4) and host Carnegie Mellon (5-0) to capture that title as well. Goaltender Lindsay Nonnenmacher notched his first career shutout in the C.M.U. game, earning himself tournament M.V.P. honors.

Although the success of the season was a product of total team effort, several Hens were cited for individual awards. These accolades reflect the respect that opposing coaches have for the players — not only for excellence of play, but for additional personal effort. Of five places on the M.A.C.H.C. First All Star Team, Delaware captured four. League scoring leader Jon Aunet at center, top goal getter Fil Sherry at right wing, and Mike Crowe at left wing. Chris Leahy was named top defenseman and freshman Bob Beck was conference rookie of the year. All three goalies received trophies because Delaware allowed the fewest goals of any team in the M.A.C.H.C. Larry Casula, Drew Parvin and Lindsay Nonnenmacher competed with one another all year long for the starting job in the Delaware nets; it was fitting that they should share this award.

The Hens will only lose three players to graduation this year. Perennial all-star Jon Aunet and second leading goal scorer in Delaware history, Fil Sherry on the forward line, and Drew Parvin in goal. On the strength of these returning players the future looks bright, indeed, for the University of Delaware ice hockey club.