End of Season 2015-2016 Banquet and Awards

On Friday night, the team gathered together one last time to celebrate the end of the season with a banquet and awards ceremony at team sponsor Klondike Kate’s. It was a night full of food, fun and quality time with good friends. This event was followed by the annual UD Hockey Golf Outing, which was a success with participation from current players, parents, alumni, and friends to the team!

Coach Julian Giantonio said his thank you to the players, who worked hard all season long to achieve goals that they set for themselves at the beginning of the year, and those that assisted the team in making everything run a little smoother than in previous years. Before the banquet, the team voted on who they believed deserved each award, and Coach presented them to those that won. The team’s student interns each received a certificate recognizing them for their help this season. The interns are: Matt Coloaiacovo, Leah Edelstein, Analisa Vizzoni, Tyler Fitzpatrick, Teddy Gelman, Kaitlin Greenstein, and Elsa Palmisano. Tisa Della-Volpe, the team photographer, was awarded the Special Service Recognition Award for her dedication to the UD Hockey program. The Chris Leahy Outstanding Defenseman Award was given to senior, Alex Guerere. John Redgate was awarded the Richard Roux MVP and Outstanding Forward Award. The two freshmen who were honored with the Tim Roman Award Rookie of the Year were forward, Pierce Lamberton, and defenseman, Justin Hoch. The Most Improved Player was given to sophomore forward, Shane Mullin. Junior, Vinny Zingarelli, was awarded the John O’Connor Intensity Award. The Roger Crozier Unsung Hero award was given to senior, Dan Going. Senior Assistant Captain from this season, Nick Ustaski, was awarded the Best Academic Performance. Pat Rochefort, senior goalie, was voted the Herb Mitchell “Class Guy” Award. Finally, the Captain of the 2015-2016 season, Leo Skehan, was honored with the Players’ Player Award.

After all the awards were handed out, Coach recognized all the seniors for their effort throughout their time in the Delaware hockey program and what they mean to the team. The graduating seniors are: Matt Santucci, Alex Guerere, Matt Margolis, Mike Conte, Dan Going, Pat Rochefort, Nick Ustaski and Leo Skehan. We wish all the seniors luck with the last few weeks of school, graduation and in all of their future endeavors!

The former President, Nick Ustaski, and Vice President and Treasurer, Pat Rochefort, presented those who will be taking over their roles for the 2016-2017 season. Vinny Zingarelli will serve as team President, and Cole Zucker will be the next Vice President and Treasurer.

Finally, Coach Julian announced who will be taking over as team captain for the upcoming season. Delaware hockey wants to congratulate rising Senior John Redgate on his new role of team captain! He has big shoes to fill, but we know he will do a fantastic job! The team would like to thank all their families and fans for all the love and support all year long! We look forward to having you all back at the Rust with us next season!

For off-season updates on the team, keep up with the team’s Twitter, @UDHockey, Facebook, University of Delaware Men’s Division 1 Ice Hockey, and our new Instagram, @udicehockey!
Written By: Analisa Vizzoni